CERN NMS Summer School 2018
The presentation was given by STFC representatives to the Non-Member State Summer Students. Some general pictures and portraits (Image: CERN)

 

Welcome to the 2020 Summer Student Online Lecture Programme!

 

Following the cancellation of the 2020 Summer Student Programme owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, this page provides you with extensive resources from this year's and last year's programme. We hope you enjoy it!

 

Your self-paced online lecture programme (addressed to students in Physics, Engineering and Computer Science) will consist of four main parts:

  1. Live Introduction Presentation and Opening Lecture at 15:00 CEST on 6 Jul 2020
  2. Possibility to follow recorded 2019 lectures (link below in the table overview under "session")
  3. Live Question and Answer sessions with the lecturers (registration compulsory 24h in advance)
  4. Live Closing Lecture at 15:00 CEST on 7 Aug 2020

Live sessions will be held on Zoom. If you can, please install the Zoom app, otherwise you may join via the web. The Zoom meeting link will be communicated by email. 

To follow the live sessions more easily save the events in your calendar.

 

If you are interested in computer science, make sure to check out the CERN openlab summer student lecture programme here.

 

2020 Summer Student Online Lecture Programme Overview

*If you experience issues with the video recordings, use Firefox or Microsoft Edge. Video files are large and may take up to 1-2 minutes to load and start.

 

Session

Lecturer

Register to the Q&A Session

Schedule

Live Session Recording*

Introduction Presentation and Opening Lecture

Andrea Wulzer, Thierry Gys, Maria Girone, Tara Shears

no registration needed Mon, 6 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Particle World Q&A

Tara Shears

attend

Wed, 8 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST

watch here
Foundation of Statistics Q&A

Nicolas Berger

attend Thu, 9 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Detectors Q&A

Werner Riegler

attend Fri, 10 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Electronics, DAQ and Triggers Q&A

Roberto Ferrari

attend Mon, 13 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Particle Accelerators and Beam Dynamics Q&A

Michaela Schaumann

attend Tue, 14 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Accelerator Technology Challenges Q&A

Daniel Schoerling, Rama Calaga, Anton Lechner

attend Wed, 15 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Astroparticle Physics Q&A

Teresa Montaruli

attend Thu, 16 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Theoretical Concepts in Particle Physics Q&A

Andrew Cohen

attend Fri, 17 Jul 2020, 14:00 CEST watch here
Experimental Physics at Lepton Colliders Q&A Mogens Dam attend Fri, 17 Jul 2020, 16:30 CEST watch here
Antimatter in the Lab Q&A

Chloe Malbrunot

attend Mon, 20 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Nuclear Physics at CERN Q&A

Hanne Heylen

attend Tue, 21 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
The Standard Model Q&A

Christophe Grojean

attend Wed, 22 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Introduction to Cosmology Q&A Paolo Creminelli attend Thu, 23 Jul 2020, 15:30 CEST watch here
From Raw Data to Physics Results Q&A

Paul James Laycock

attend Fri, 24 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Experimental Physics at Hadron Colliders Q&A

Marumi Kado

attend Mon, 27 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Making Predictions at Hadron Colliders Q&A Mike Seymour attend Tue, 28 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Heavy Ions Q&A

Francesca Bellini

attend Wed, 29 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Beyond The Standard Model Q&A Matthew Philip Mccullough attend Thu, 30 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
What is String Theory? Q&A

Timo Stephan Weigand

attend Fri, 31 Jul 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Physics and Medical Applications Q&A

Manjit Dosanjh

attend Mon, 3 Aug 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Flavour Physics Q&A

Mark Richard James Williams

attend Tue, 4 Aug 2020, 15:00 CEST watch here
Future High-Energy Collider Projects Q&A

Daniel Schulte

attend Thu, 6 Aug 2020, 15:00 CEST  
Closing Lecture

Gian Giudice

attend Fri, 7 Aug 2020, 15:00 CEST  

CEST (Central European Summer Time)